Ircam HomeRésonances 2004

Events for Professionals
Open-House Weekend
Scientific Events
Artistic Events
Associated Events
Discover IRCAM

Day by day program / October, 2004

Schedule  Partners  Useful info  Registrations  Version françaisefleche_langueEnglish versionPrintable Version


Ensemble Intercontemporain

Extra musical references - art, architecture and literature - permeate the music of Jarrel. For Schoeller however, it is nature that emerges as the perpetual subject in his work.

What these two composers share in common is perhaps an attraction towards the use of the orchestra and electronics. In a similar fashion, what links Hass and Jarrel is their taste for writing solo and symphonic music. In general, all three composers approach sound in a new way, treating it as a poetic and structural component. According to Schoeller sound is not "aesthetically neutral". Finally, amidst many other subtleties the world of shadows is also a recurrent subject of inspiration for both Jarrel and Hass.


  • Georg Friedrich Haas "...Einklang freier Wessen...", for ten instruments
  • Philippe Schoeller Ganesha, concertino for percussion and ensemble, commissioned by the Ensemble Intercontemporain, World premier
  • Michael Jarrell Droben schmettert ein greller Stein, for double bass, ensemble and electronics
  • Georg Friedrich Haas Monodie, for eighteen instruments


Michel Cerutti, percussions. Frédéric Stochl, double bass. Ensemble Intercontemporain. Conductor: Zsolt Nagy. Ircam computer music. Musical assistant: Gilbert Nouno.

Ensemble Intercontemporain, Ircam-Centre Pompidou co-production

Wednesday, October 13, 08:30pm / Centre Pompidou, Grande salle

  • Fees: 14 euros and 9,50 euros (special rate)
  • Informations: 01 44 78 48 16

<< Back

Copyright Ircam - Centre Pompidou 2004. Photos: Akira Natchi.